How Much Bigger???

21 Jul

  
Did you know that babies grow faster towards the end of their gestation?  They gain half of their birthweight in the last 7 weeks.  So in the picture above, (photo A)  the twins and I are at 32 1/2 weeks.  Time wise, we are over 3/4ths to the finish line.  Size wise we are half-way there.  

  
Photo B– here we are 9 days later at almost 34 weeks.  Clearly they are growing fast!!

Today I had to remind myself that back a few months ago, I knew that I was going to get miserable and that the more miserable I got, the better, because that meant the twins would be getting bigger and more able to survive outside.  

It was easy to say at 20 weeks when they were 1 1/2 pounds each.  

Now they are closer to 5 pounds each.  Today as my back ached no matter what I tried, I had to repeat it like a mantra ” my back hurting is better than the babies being in the NICU”.  I kept forgetting and wanting to call my doctor and cry about how I couldn’t take it anymore. 

 Mass repetition made it finally sink in, though, and I now feel capable of lasting a couple more weeks.  At which point, I think that I will be able to convince myself that another 2 weeks can be survived.  (Or however long it takes for these little guys to be ready). 

In a side note, I blogged a couple months ago about how awful it is to tell a pregnant woman how huge she is.  Funny enough, once I wrote about it, it quit bothering me.  Now if someone mentions how huge I am, I just agree with them and it doesn’t offend me a bit.  (I do think the twin factor has something to do with it, because I know I have a great excuse to be growing so large.  but I think writing about it helped too.  I no longer harbor ill feelings towards that nice guy who commented on my size two Christmases ago, which is a relief because it seriously bothered me that I was so unforgiving). So there you go.  Feel free to tell me I’m horrifyingly huge.  It shan’t bother me a bit.  

7 Responses to “How Much Bigger???”

  1. Melody July 22, 2015 at 9:43 AM #

    *You* look great! It just looks like a basketball (overinflated) is in your belly.
    P.S. I love love love your hair!!

  2. hopeforheather July 24, 2015 at 1:04 PM #

    Congrats and WOW! PS, I love your hairstyle!

  3. mareena July 24, 2015 at 10:34 PM #

    I was just amazed at how slim you look, minus the big baby bulge on the front. but seriously the rest? all baby!!

    • GlowWorm July 25, 2015 at 5:43 AM #

      I’m already alternately day dreaming about post baby workouts and telling myself it will be awhile and to be realistic. But bodies are incredible things! Life is good ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. katie w August 7, 2015 at 10:57 AM #

    great use of the word shan’t!

Leave a Reply

