Blueberry Pie is 15

11 Jul

Can you believe this cute little baby 

  
Is now grown into this handsome boy?

  
I’m struggling to believe it myself and I’ve been around for the growing.

  
This is what he wanted for his birthday.

  
Classy, no?  He used it to pick up girls at the last church dance and was very pleased with his success.   He knows how to be funny without crossing the line into stupid and annoying.  I appreciate that a lot.  

He likes reading good books, listening to Jazz, and drawing, which are things I’m very happy about.

He also likes playing xbox games where much killing happens, listening to computer game soundtracks, and teasing his sisters, which I’m not so thrilled about.  

Blueberry Pie is pretty constantly hungry.  His favorite snack is “chips and cheese” which is tortilla chips and shredded cheddar.  I buy 2 boxes of tortilla chips and a 5 lb bag of cheddar cheese every month to keep up with this hunger.  He also eats lots of yogurt and raw oatmeal and pretty much anything I will warm up for him.  He does not like stir fry.

He is now over a 1/2″ taller than his father.  I’ve been having to buy him new jeans every 6 months for the past 2 years as he has grown taller.  He is not taller than I am yet.

Blueberry plays baritone saxophone in the high school band and jazz band.  He knows how to rock it.  He really is very cool.   

He likes to tell me about his dreams, which are always very vivid and take a very long time to describe.  His favorite time to talk is after 9 pm, when I have announced absolutely non-negotiable bed time.  I am always torn between finally hearing what is going on in his life and my own need for sleep.

Before he goes to bed at night, he will come over and bend his head sideways until he just bumps my head.  Then he says, “Night, Mom.”  

2 Responses to “Blueberry Pie is 15”

  1. Melody July 13, 2015 at 8:16 PM #

    Happy Birthday to your kiddo!! I didn’t realize how close he and my Matthew (15 y 7 m) are in age!! I can’t wait for them to hang out at the next big family reunion.

  2. Cegan July 17, 2015 at 6:57 PM #

    He really is very cool! I love that boy!

Leave a Reply

