Baby Bean is 8 months old

11 Sep

Lesue Family (153)

Baby Bean is 8 months old.

She is 30 inches long and weighs 21 pounds.  Most of my other babies were not that big even at a year old.

She has grown so fast, it’s like watching someone’s life on fast forward, it kind of takes my breath away.  Pardon me the Twilight reference, but it’s like I have a vampire-human hybrid baby.  She is crawling and pulling up to stand.  When she crawls, she stomps her hands and knees down like  “HERE COMES THE BABY!”  When she starts walking, I’m pretty sure the house will shake.  This week she climbed up our stairs all the way to the top.

She says “mama”  when she is crying and wants out of her crib, and when she sees a dog, she says “gog!”  She is my first baby to say mama before dada.

I feel like she is a super good baby because when I hold her she doesn’t cry.  (I had a little brother who cried all the time no matter what, so I know it can be worse.)  My sister says I should have a higher standard and that good babies are happy to lie in their swing or play on the floor for hours while mom gets housework done.

…yeah, I’ve never had a baby who would do that.  Baby Bean does play happily if she has just been fed and I stay in relatively one spot.  If I try to walk away, she starts crawling after me and howling.

She puts everything she can grab in her mouth. She finds every bit of candy wrapper/trash/dead bug and eats it as fast as possible.  We haven’t had candy in the house since Easters, but she finds foil wrappers almost daily it seems.

Getting her to sleep through the night has been kind of hard. She did very well for awhile and then suddenly had to be touching my skin to stay asleep.  Finally, I thought I had it figured out.  I was so tired and desperate for sleep that I left her in her crib to cry and before 5 minutes passed, she was asleep and slept through the night.  3 days in a row, she slept through the night.  Victory!  I thought.  I told my friend that I had figured it out.  Then she got her immunizations.  (Which I totally believe everyone should get.)  But she was miserable for 2-3 days, and she needed me.  Back to sleeping with me she was.

I tried the letting her cry thing again, but 5 minutes is the maximum amount of time I can stand to hear her cry without getting her, and either she’s figured that out, or she just still needs me.

I have figured out some things though:

#1  if she falls asleep nursing, 9 times out of 10 she will wake up as soon as I put her down in her crib.  So I feed her, but try to make sure she doesn’t fall asleep until after she is done eating.

#2  if she is still wide awake at 10:30  and I’m desperate (I have to get up at 4:45 a.m.), I can put her in her crib.  She will cry until I come get her again, but 5 minutes of crying wears her out enough that she will go to sleep by 11. Is that terrible of me?   I’d be delirious with happiness if I could get her to sleep by 9 p.m. but it doesn’t seem like it’s going to happen any time soon.  11 p.m. is my max

#3 Sometimes she will sleep through the night after all that, and sometimes I wake up in the morning and wonder how she ended up in bed with me, but that 1-2 hours of sleep that happen before midnight make all the difference for me.

*****************************

I sure love her a lot.  I try to restrain myself from covering her fat cheeks with kisses and blowing raspberries on her neck when I’m in public places.  But lots of times I forget.

One Response to “Baby Bean is 8 months old”

  1. andthisiswhyiwilldiealonesurroundedbycats September 15, 2014 at 9:19 AM #

    Shes a little beauty!

Leave a Reply

