Yes, I’m going to Rant a bit

3 Oct

beetlebattle

Okay so our government has been shut down for 3 days now while both sides sit on their self-righteous high horses and  refuse to negotiate or compromise.  They throw blame and mud at each other and do essentially nothing.

The radio news media are taking predictable sides as well, with NPR talking about how Republicans are refusing to budge and Conservative talk radio guys talking about Obama and the Democrats refusing to budge.

Left in the lurch is us, the American people, particularly the 800,000 federal employees who have not had a job for the last 3 days.  And then there are the businesses who depend on visitors to places like National Parks for their customers.  And the effect trickles onward.

Some of the pundits have been saying things like

“Big deal, the government shut down.  Nothing happened.  There are no riots.  A few people have been inconvenienced is all.”

That number (800,000 federal employees)  I got from NPR.  I doubt that it includes the few thousand Missouri Guard soldiers who’s Guard Drill was canceled this weekend because of the government shut down.  You would think that our state guard would be paid by the state, but it isn’t, it is paid by the Federal Government.  That is, no doubt, a troubling situation in and of itself that ought to be considered.

The real effect of this on my family is a 15% reduction in our income for the month.  Basically the whole amount we have budgeted for food and household necessities like diapers and toilet paper.

Now, I’d like to know if Mike Levine or Rush Limbaugh would call a 15% reduction in their monthly income an “inconvenience.”  More likely they would be screaming from the rooftops about suffering and injustice.

I’d like to know if the congressmen are still getting paid during the shutdown, while they serve themselves and their own party, instead of the people who elected them.  Are the coffee gophers on furlough as well as the National Guard?

 

Call me crazy, but I thought the whole idea behind a representative government is that the representatives get together, talk about the needs of the people, and then make compromises on how to best serve the people.  

I’m not saying my family is going to crash and burn this month.  We will muddle through and be ok.  I’m pretty sure there are other families that this will hit much harder than us.  The longer the shut down lasts, the harder it will be.  I’m the first one to admit that the government needs to cut some fat, and I realize that means some people will lose their jobs.  If my husband is one of them, we will deal with that.  What just really chaps me is this indecision-do nothing but blame the other party crap that is going on.

Man up and do your jobs, Congress.

That is all.

 

2 Responses to “Yes, I’m going to Rant a bit”

  1. Ceg October 3, 2013 at 9:38 PM #

    I’ve had some similar thoughts this week. Tell me where is the LEADERSHIP? Where? It’s a sad, sad time for many reasons.

  2. mareena October 5, 2013 at 10:00 PM #

    well put. couldn’t agree more.

Leave a Reply

