Watching the comet

13 Mar

The DH makes sure that the kiddie pies truly get to experience this awesome world we live in.

"Shadows in the Rain"

Last night the kids and I went looking for comet Pan-STARRS in the western sky.  The day had been partly cloudy, and I worried that we would miss this event.  But at around 7:00 PM the skies looked clear.  So we jumped into the van and headed to the kids’ grandparent’s house where there was an unobstructed view of the horizon.  And they have a telescope too!  So we set up the telescope and brought out a couple pairs of binoculars.

Slowly the thin sliver of the crescent moon emerged.  It was magnificant! But we were waiting for something more elusive.  Finally, the small smudge of light appeared.  We quickly aimed the telescope toward the cosmic wonder.  It was amazing to see.  And I was just as excited for my children to witness the comet as I was.

The telescope provided a good view, but my favorite view was through…

View original post 84 more words

4 Responses to “Watching the comet”

  1. Jimmy March 14, 2013 at 8:59 AM #

    Good choice

  2. Monk Monkey March 17, 2013 at 3:37 AM #

    I read this. I commented. I weeped. (A little bit.)

Leave a Reply

