Menu for week of January 20

18 Jan

This past week, I didn’t quite follow the menu plan as outlined–sometimes life tosses in a few speed bumps.

Sunday we were invited to a friend’s house at dinner time, so Lasagna got bumped to Monday.

Then Tuesday with all that went on, I got home late and didn’t have time for the Apricot Chipotle Chicken, so I made Friday‘s Cabbage & Sausage.

Wednesday, I could tell that the kiddie pies and the DH were really tired of all that healthy mush for breakfast, so I made pancakes and buttermilk (a.k.a caramel a.k.a. liquid gold) syrup.  They gobbled it down like starving pigs.  So you’ll notice that this next week, I’ve planned in some breaks from the mush.

Thursday we had a friend over and though I had planned on making Shredded Pork Sandwiches, it was a new recipe and I don’t like to experiment on guests, especially when I’m not confident about the recipe’s source.  (Even Rachel Ray has let me down before, but only once–I still love you Rachel.)  So we had Caribbean Pork Tacos/Soft Tacos which was way better and included the Man of the House’s fresh salsa. So tasty!  (and there’s lots of leftovers–even better! Hello, Sunday Lunch!)

Now my brother has talked us into  schlepping up to St. Louis for the weekend (he need’s our van’s horsepower to pull a trailer.)  We’ll fit in a trip to the temple and take the kids to the zoo as well.  Awesome!  But it means I won’t be cooking on Saturday.  Awesome!

The nice thing about planning the menu & buying the groceries ahead is that I have the ingredients I need to improvise something that will work even on days that don’t go as planned.

Menu for Week of January 20

Sunday

Breakfast: Whole Wheat Toast & Scrambled Eggs

Lunch:  Caribbean Pork Tacos

Dinner: Cinnamon Rolls and Alphabet Soup

Monday

Breakfast: CrockPot Pumpkin Custard Cracked Wheat Mush

Lunch: Alphabet Soup

Snack:  Cinnamon Rolls

Dinner: Chicken Divan

Tuesday

Breakfast: CrockPot Apricot Ginger Cracked Wheat Mush

Lunch: Sandwiches or Leftovers

Snack: Oven Fries (or Finger Potatoes as my mother called them)

Dinner: Beef Stew

Wednesday

Breakfast: Pancakes & Fried Eggs

Lunch: Sandwiches or Leftovers

Snack: Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

Dinner: Hawaiian Haystacks

Thursday

Breakfast: Strawberry Yogurt & Whole Wheat Toast

Lunch: Sandwiches or Leftovers

Snack: Celery, Peanut Butter, & Raisins

Dinner:  Pizza

Friday

Breakfast: CrockPot Banana & Coconut Milk Cracked Wheat Mush

Lunch: Leftover pizza

Snack: Banana Milkshakes

Dinner: Bean Salad

Saturday

Breakfast: SnickerDoodle Muffins

Lunch: Pasta Salad

Dinner: Gyosa Soup

Leave a Reply

