Favorite Phrases I’ve heard at family gatherings in the last little while

14 Jan

Image

“He just thinks he’s THE-BOMB-DOT-COM.” (my teenage niece re: her ex)

“You can’t throw stones from a glass whore house.”  (why must it be a whore house?)

“I used to think bare-back riding meant that you didn’t wear pants while riding.” (Blueberry Pie–me:  I guess that would be called “bare-butt” riding.  Oh Dear.  Lets stop this conversation now. )

7 Responses to “Favorite Phrases I’ve heard at family gatherings in the last little while”

  1. Brother Jon January 14, 2013 at 9:45 AM #

    Oh no….I know where that house comes from. Go ahead and take away my man card first thing Monday Morning.

    My brother used to ride bulls bare back…but was always too scared to ride broncs that way. Try to figure that one out.

    • GlowWorm January 14, 2013 at 10:26 AM #

      any one with facial hair gets to keep their man card permanently, I think. Except maybe The Artist Formerly Know as Prince, cree-eepy.

      I suppose maybe broncs kick higher so it’s more scary? I really can’t figure out the whole idea of bull-riding at all so it is taxing my brain. I did watch bull riding on cable at the hospital while having a baby once.

      • Brother Jon January 14, 2013 at 12:23 PM #

        I’m pretty sure he’s back to being just plain ole Prince now….but still pretty creepy.

        I think it’s because when you ride broncs you’re supposed to lay all the way back. People who make a career out of it end up with really messed up backs at an early age.

      • GlowWorm January 14, 2013 at 4:36 PM #

        as opposed to just regular old concussions. I had a speech class in college with a guy who rode bulls, possibly broncs too. He had fractured his skull something like 5 times and broken his back once. But he was still riding. He gave his informatory speech on how to castrate calves. He was quite a piece of work. I have lots of admiration for the skill it takes, and the cowboy jeans. But it takes a little crazy too, and that’s the part that worries me.

      • Brother Jon January 14, 2013 at 4:42 PM #

        Hey, I never said he was smart. I think my Bruddah has had five or six concussions. And, yes, he is quite crazy. The good thing is he was really good at it, so he didn’t get hurt as much as he should have.

  2. Melody January 14, 2013 at 10:01 AM #

    LOL

    Also, I love The Lakehouse. I really must watch it soon!

    • GlowWorm January 14, 2013 at 10:20 AM #

      I just re-watched it with my Mom over Christmas. happy sigh.

Leave a Reply

