Classy

24 Oct

I read Classy: Exceptional Advice for the Extremely Modern Lady earlier this year (sometimes my library does have good stuff–if you can get past the vampire heavy teen section. sheesh! enough vampires already! Just because Stephanie Meyer hit the jackpot, must every publisher bring out a vampire trilogy or two?)

Back to my sweetie pie, Derek Blasberg. He is a genius. Plus he grew up in my home state! Good things can come from Missouri! This book was hilarious and I learned some super useful things too, like:

What do you take as a gift for the hostess of a dinner party when you and your friends don’t drink wine?

Answer: flowers! (perfect! I always wanted to be one of those classy people who brought a gift to their hostess, I just could never figure out what to bring. In movies it is always wine.)

How should you dress when flying?

Answer: classy and good-looking! The airport is one of the few places left where you can find a single man, and at least you know that his family can afford a plane ticket! (sheer genius. Heaven forbid I am ever single again, but if that day comes, I’m totally going to hang out in airports to meet guys.)

This book got a few too many negative reviews on Amazon (as in: any negative review was 1 too many.) They were either from people who had no sense of humor or people who write reviews for their own self-aggrandizement.

Mrs. “Everything in the book is quite predictable and even pedestrian,” Have you no sense of humor?

Miss “I hardly learned anything,” are you trying to impress us with your knowledge– because I’m very (un)impressed by your inability to learn anything!

Anyway, it was a great read and very fun. It made me want to hostess a dinner party and go buy a cashmere sweater. One more nice thing. Derek recommended some great wardrobe pieces that are worth investing in, but he has a sense of proportion as well. I read and enjoyed Nina Garcia’s The One Hundred: A Guide to the Pieces Every Stylish Woman Must Own but my needs won’t justify the 5 or 10 cashmere sweaters in all colors like she recommends. Derek’s recommendations geared more for starving college student budgets are much more fit to my budget and my lifestyle. Let’s face it, I don’t get invited to 10 dinner parties a year, so 1 little black dress is really all I could ever use.

2 Responses to “Classy”

  1. L October 25, 2011 at 9:03 PM #

    Hey I noticed you've been blogging reviews of books pretty often and was going to ask if you've ever tried goodreads? It took me a bit to get into it but now I really enjoy recommendations and stuff that it gives, plus you can review tons on there. Also they have book giveaways and I've only been using it since September-ish and have won 5 books.

  2. GlowWorm October 26, 2011 at 3:52 PM #

    Mmmm…free books…I'm going to have to check that out. Thanks L!

Leave a Reply

